Johnson, granted in 1782 to Samuel Johnson and others, was chartered as a town in January, 1792; in 1894 the Village of Johnson was incorporated. Nestled in the Lamoille Valley, it is surrounded by mountains and forests and is the meeting place of the Lamoille and Gihon rivers. In it’s beginning, the Gihon was the foundation for much of the water-powered mill economy, but it is also known for its woolen mill and former talc mines.
Thanks to Sue Lovering for taking the picture.
Use the links below to make a donation, or contact Alice or any of the Historical Society Trustees to learn how you can support this important endeavor.
JOHNSON HISTORICAL SOCIETY CAPITAL CAMPAIGN
In 2014, the Town of Johnson purchased the former home and offices of Dr. Lyndhurst P. Holcomb, who practiced medicine in Johnson for 55 years. This important village building is now the new and permanent home of the Johnson Historical Society, in which to make our past come alive for generations of Johnson residents and visitors to come.
Inspired by this strong evidence of the town’s commitment to our shared history, the Johnson Historical Society has launched its first ever capital campaign with the following goals:
•To retire the town’s $250,000 mortgage for the JHS building now named the Dr. Holcomb House, which will serve as the eastern gateway of Johnson village’s newly restored Main Street;
• To underwrite ongoing and new programs and projects the Historical Society may now undertake in its wonderful new home.
Use the buttons below to make a one time or recurring donation!
(Making a donation requires the use of Internet Explorer 11 or Chrome browsers)
Johnson Historical Society
188 Main Street, P.O. Box 383
Johnson, VT 05656
Linda Jones, Town Historian
Doctor Holcomb House Hours
Thursdays 9:00am – 12:00pm
Sundays 1:00pm – 4:00pm
And by appointment:
Dean West Lois Frey